metadanax.blogg.se

Swarm queen art
Swarm queen art











( Read "Quest for a Superbee" in National Geographic magazine.) How do you get the bees to come to you? I plan to do a bee-dance tour in Europe next. I finally found an entomologist to work with me, and I’m also connected with beekeepers all over the country. I could visualize this bee blouse, but it took me a long time to find people to help me make it happen. Then I was driving by an iris farm in Columbia Gorge, , and it came to me that I needed to be covered in bees. I was doing a special photo project but hadn’t decided yet on the image. How did you come up with the idea of the “bee blouse”? That interconnectedness, the idea that if you take a piece out the group is incomplete and doesn’t function as well-that’s part of the message I want to share.įrom tiny hatching eggs to quivering pupae to hair-sprouting adults, worker honeybees develop at lightning speed thanks to a time-lapse video of 2,500 images. Each bee has a job, and they take turns doing different things to help the whole. As I got to know bees, I realized their world is all about community. I had that sense of being part of a group, working together, instilled in me at an early age. People found time to get together, making quilts and dancing and enjoying wonderful meals together. Though my childhood community was small and people were spread out, we were very connected. Mapelli spoke to National Geographic about what first drew her to be with bees, how people respond to her unique art-form, and what it feels like to have up to 15,000 of the stinging insects swarming her body. (Also see " Honeybee Dances Map Healthy Landscapes.") Why bees in particular? Why are they meaningful to you? The healing, meditative bee dance is one aspect of her alternative medicine practice, and her audience-often people who fear bees or feel disconnected from nature-goes home less afraid and spiritually reinvigorated, Mapelli says. Oregonian artist and energy therapist Sara Mapelli, known as the Bee Queen, wears a squirming coat of thousands of honeybees over her topless torso-a performance aimed at helping others conquer fears and commune with nature.













Swarm queen art